Ta-daaaaa!

Woo…hooo…. the sun is shining again and I can confidently say that Spring is springing!! It’s not fully sprung, but the Daffs I planted in the tubs in the back garden are out and look lovely! The birds are cautiously returning to the feeders… cautiously because the new neighbours have a cat and said feline sits on the kids playhouse and eyes up the bird feeder like it’s a McDonald’s drive-thru!

Last week Child No1 turned 15 and I had a mini crisis over that, I don’t mind telling you. I mean… 15 for goodness sake?? How, how, HOW can I be the mother of a 15-year-old?! Looking back at being 15, I realised it actually wasn’t too bad an age… I had a boyfriend my parents approved of (until he dumped me!), the music was awesome (late 80s was superb wasn’t it?!), the films were classics (Rainman was my fave at the time), I was involved in a project at school that widened my circle of friends and allowed me to develop my leadership and presentation skills and generally, before GCSE mayhem arrived, it was a good time. Then I think about No1 and I worry about how much pressure we place on children of their age… it seems so young to be thinking about career options, exams etc… yet in two weeks time she has a full week of Year 10 Mock GCSEs…. 9 exams in 5 days… the results of which will determine which papers she sits next summer… oh the pressure! So actually, I was happy that her birthday stretched over a couple of days and ended with us having a big family meal at the local carvery and scoffing gurt lush cake!

20160416_211049

Her birthday also signaled a year in which there have been so many changes in our lives. You know I always intended the blog to chart a journey. It just wasn’t quite the journey I thought it was going to be… it’s been a whole lot better. This post is a bit like that ‘view-stop’ you take on a long walk up a hill or mountain. You know the one… when you’re all puffed out and NEED to catch your breath… but you don’t want to let everyone else in the group know you’re flagging. So instead, you say you just want to stop and ‘admire the view!!’ Only when you do stop – rather than looking up at just how far you’ve got to go, you look back down and marvel at how far you’ve come and how wonderful the view is from here…

DSCF3147

And boy, what a view…. in the last twelve months I …

  • Learned to use my voice in a whole new way… and still learning
  • Interviewed cricketers, Olympic rowers, swimmers, footballers, football managers
  • Had 2 articles published on the BBC Sport website on Cricket and swimming
  • Dined at the Leander Club – home of British rowing, (twice!) on one occasion sitting next to a London 2012 Olympic Gold medalist
  • Worked… yes WORKED at Wembley at a Cup Final!
  • Took the kids to Normandy again and camped in the rain
  • Walked 1000 miles in the year with No1 and raised money for cancer research
  • Visited 18 football grounds I’d never been to before and sampled tea at every one of them. (Sometimes cake, or chips too!)
  • Went to my first ‘Obby ‘Oss May Day in Padstow with the family
  • Wrote more words towards my book than I’ve ever done
  • Went to see Deal or No Deal being filmed (twice!)… I never did get to see them being shown on TV!
  • Pushed my new-found skills to their very limits and beyond and hey… I didn’t break! In fact, I’ve been quite good at times I reckon

So… yeah… it’s been a good year. And OK… I might be the mother of a hormone-fuelled teenager, but I’m having a great time and right now, that’s what counts! And even better, I’ve not reached the mid-life crisis stage yet. So who knows what mayhem I’ll be up to by then! But that’s waaaaaaay off……………..

Hoping the sun is still shining wherever you are!

MJ xx

Leave a Reply

