The tunes have started…

Much as you want to, you now can’t avoid them… they’re everywhere – on TV adverts, in the shops, in the shopping arcades and even the BBC TV channel ident tunes have added some Christmas jingles to their normal offering, to make it more Christmasy! The festive songs and tunes have arrived…. and now, spending time in a radio station means I really can’t escape them! Thankfully, the presenters I have the pleasure of seeing and listening to, when I’m there have chosen to avoid the real clichéd tunes. They’ve opted for things like The Darkness (a great track and title!) and Coldplay’s Christmas Lights (this took the accolade of being the first Christmas tune I allowed to continue playing on the radio last week!)

I wrote a post last year in my daily Advent posts about whether Day 8 was too early for tunes… for some people I realised December 1st is too LATE, but there others, who like me (middle name Scrooge), prefer to wait a little longer. But as I said, unless I sit in the house with the lights off and the TV on mute, there’s no avoiding it now, so we might as well embrace it! My post last year here has some great links to YouTube videos for some of the tracks that I really never get sick of over Christmas! Do take a look – there are some great ones there (in my opinion!) and it does get you feeling festive!

Here’s a couple more for you, starting with Coldplay (easily one of the best bands I’ve ever seen live) though never saw this one performed live! So I may be a little biased, but it’s a song that grows on you, I reckon!

 

This one – another offering from the lovely Michael Buble  – is a staple on our Christmas iTunes list. Talking of which, when we went away last year to North Wales, we took the iPod and loaded it with all our fave crimbo tunes, which we played non-stop all week! Over 120 tunes, from all sorts of artists! By the end of the week, even the Hub was craving a little bit of 80’s & 90’s nostalgia!

And how could I not include the old crooner himself… Bing and White Christmas… just perfect!

Have a great day!

MJ xx

 

 

2 thoughts on “The tunes have started…

Leave a Reply

