I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

I let you go

 

I simply cannot leave this book on the shelf and not mention just how terrific I thought it was. I love stories that are based in areas that I have some awareness of as it allows me to visualise the environment. Based partly in Bristol and near Swansea I automatically felt a small connection with the settings.

‘A tragic accident. It all happened so quickly. She couldn’t have prevented it. Could she?’

Jenna Gray’s life has been turned upside down and she feels the only way to escape the nightmare is to leave everything and everyone she knows and start again. The story is told from multiple angles and provides a well paced narrative that paints a picture of a complex police investigation and the impact that this has on the key characters of the story. Clare has used her experiences as a police detective to describe police procedures in a way that is easy to follow as a ‘civilian’ and yet understand the pressures being placed on an overstretched service and the dedicated staff within. You are also taken a on journey with Jenna in terms of how she is dealing (or not) with the accident that has shaped her new life, willing her to find a light at the end of the long, dark tunnel she finds herself in.

I was really drawn into Jenna’s new life on the coast and it was a place I felt I wanted to visit, thanks to the way Clare had described it. I also felt Clare created a life for Detective Inspector Ray Stevens which was both realistic and challenging. This is not a story with huge numbers of characters, but she manages to allow the reader to engage with each one on a much deeper level and with her totally unexpected killer twist, has you questioning your own thought processes.

This book was literally one I could not put down. I felt I was being drip fed small clues and pieces of the bigger picture to the point that I needed to know what was going to happen, because Clare is very clever in not giving everything away!

I would definitely give this 5/5 stars!

If you are a fan of psychological thrillers, then give this one a go and let me know what you think!

MJ xx

 

5 thoughts on “I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

    1. mjhadlow Post author

      You are so welcome Clare. I actually felt a little empty when it was finished, to the point that I wanted to wait a few days before starting a new book, in case it didn’t match up! Good luck with your next project xx

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Dance with the Enemy…. | MJHadlowWriter

Leave a Reply

