New Year… New Plans…

2015_new_year

This is my first post of the New Year, so it felt like a good time to share some of my plans for the year ahead. I decided some time ago that New Year Resolutions are a waste of time – in fact, my desk diary has the motto below – which just about sums up my past attempts at setting NYRs!!

Resolution

So, like any good teacher, I have opted for target setting – mostly long-term, but with some short-term and achievable options along the way!! I have a good feeling about this year. I’m not entirely sure why… it just feels… well… right. Having struggled to the end of term with a terrible chest infection/cold, I was worried the entire holiday would be blighted by the lurgy, or worst still passed onto the children and friends we were away with (the Hub had already been infected, albeit briefly!). But I needn’t have worried – 7 days away in the wilds of North Wales was ‘kill or cure’ as my mum put it and by Day 2 of the trip, I was feeling tip-top. Two weeks off, without worrying about emails, staffing, general office politics was just what the Doc should have prescribed. OK – Christmas is never really a holiday when you try to meet more friends and family in one week than you do for the rest of the year. Not to mention trying to eat/drink your way through the equivalent of an EU food mountain! (Do they still have those??) But it was a great chance to reflect on the year gone, the good and the bad. I, for one, was glad to see the back of 2014. The year I turned 40….enough said, surely?! To be fair, there were some amazing highlights: 40th birthday celebrations, holidays with the family, time spent in Dorset. But there were also some low points I would rather leave in 2014, to be honest. Out of the madness that the end of the year produced, came the birth of this blog… a little lifeline and positive move forward towards a goal I have long talked about, but never dared to risk my pride trying to pursue. But the positive feedback from the posts, both as comments here and in person gave me a real boost to think that perhaps phase 2 needs to be put into action. I really missed blogging over Christmas – it was a deliberate decision to take a break. In part because wi-fi in North Wales was so poor most of the time, but also to see how much I would miss it. Even after only 20-something posts, I know I miss the writing, so here I am, back for more!!

So what does 2015 bring….?

  • More blog posts for sure. The more I post the happier I become with my writing.
  • Child No1 and I have embarked on a crazy plan to walk 1000 miles during the year. I don’t mean the ’round the shops/about town’ miles, but meaningful miles, which will have a positive impact on our health and well-being. She plans to count her 3 mile walk to/from school and we also plan to get out and about on short-medium length walks as often as possible, in order to chip away at the miles. In doing this, we have decided to raise money for Charity and Child No1 chose Cancer Research UK. If you’re interested, you can find our fundraising page at http://www.justgiving.com/MarieAlex1000miles – more posts on this in the coming months, no doubt!!
  • Writing…hmmm… apart from the blog posts, I have been poking away at a couple of potential story lines, from the half-dozen or so I have been making notes on. My target is to get the manuscript for one of them finished and ready for editing before the end of the year. This means building confidence and finally plucking the courage to share my writing with the experts! I have been pouring over the advice in Carole Blake’s ‘From Pitch to Publication’ in the hope that I won’t make too many mistakes along the way! I have dubbed 2015 as the year I stop talking about it and actually do it!
  • To keep a 5 year diary charting the changes and developments in my life – I found this beautiful ‘Jane-a-Day’ 5 year diary in Waterstones recently and couldn’t resist. I love writing a few lines at the end of each day. Call me old-fashioned – I mean isn’t this what Twitter is for (?) I hear you cry, but in the same way I like to hold a real book when I read sometimes (yes, I know I have a Kindle too!), I also like to act of writing, even just a few lines at the end of each day.
  • I have also set a number of other targets which I will share somewhere along the way – but which are not relevant today. Needless to say I plan to make 2015 MY year.

Some of you may criticise there are no comments made about ‘spending more time with the family’, or ‘drinking less alcohol’. Well, I don’t need a New Year to reaffirm my commitments to my liver or my family – that’s a daily pledge.

I leave you now to reflect on those resolutions you may have set 5 days ago… I hope you’re keeping to them! I wish you all the very best for a positive and healthy 2015.

MJ xx

Leave a Reply

