Advent Day 20: Let the Holidays begin…..

TERM IS DONE!

I cannot begin to explain just how pleased teachers are at the end of each term. I take a HUGE amount of flack from non-teacher friends (and family – DAD!), who tell me how lucky we are to have great holidays, only working from 9.00am until 3.30pm blah blah bloody blah…. Well I could write an entire post on how this just isn’t the case. Instead, I am going to focus entirely on the fact that I now have 2 whole weeks (in fact 16 days) of down time with my family and I am going to use them to great effect! That’s starts with planning what TV we are going to watch. Christmas is just about the only time when watching ‘Herbie Rides Again’ at 9.30 in the morning over a bowl of Cornflakes (other cereals are available) is totally right!

I recently asked my friends on Facebook what films are essential viewing over the holiday period. The feedback was overwhelming and varied, as you can imagine. Some films are great at any time over the festive period – for their feel good format, others are lose their fizz if watched after the day itself. For me, in more recent years, Christmas really starts with watching the Polar Express. It’s one of those films that you ought to watch on Christmas Eve, while wrapping the last of the presents, or waiting for the mince pies to bake! If I had an ‘I Believe Bell’ it would still be ringing for me!! My sister recently purchased ‘I Believe Bells’ online – they are delightful and a great gift for the children (and young at heart in your family):

http://www.enchantedkeepsakes.co.uk/shop_5026/prod_3523679-Personalised-Extra-Large-5cm-Silver-I-believe-polar-express-santa-jingle-charm-bell.html (too late now, but worth a thought ahead of next Christmas)

The overwhelming film of choice was for Elf… can you believe I haven’t seen it. It’s on my list for this holiday.

Then the usual suspects crept in:

  • Muppet’s Christmas Carol (my sister LOVES this!)
  • The Great Escape
  • Home Alone
  • It’s a Wonderful Life
  • Die Hard
  • Santa Claus: The Movie

I would go so far as to add Love Actually and The Holiday to the list. I love to watch both these films at other times of the year when I want to feel a bit festive!

By the time you read this it will be Advent Day 21.., but hey, who’s checking?! Let me know what films get you feeling festive?

Enjoy the break, however long or short it is.

MJ xx

 

2 thoughts on “Advent Day 20: Let the Holidays begin…..

    1. mjhadlow Post author

      Ha ha… I only just picked this comment up – must have been when we went away! I agree… I LOVE the Holiday. I missed it this year, so I am going to make some time when I have the house to myself and I can curl up with a bar of choc and glass (or two) of vino!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

